FOUNDRESS


In 1880, the General Chapter of the Religious of Holy Cross accepted that these young women, known as “Little Sisters of the Holy Family”, become an Institute under the direction of Sister Léonie. They would be dedicated to the domestic needs in Holy Cross Colleges throughout Canada while sanctifying themselves by private vows.


She always remained a Holy Cross Sister and continued to wear the habit. In 1904, she relinquished this habit to wear the one of the Little Sisters of the Holy Family. One year later, she was released of her obligations towards the Holy Cross Sisters by Pope Pius X.

Little by little, the Institute served different religious congregations and diocesan clergy. When God called her near him on May 3, 1912, at the age of 72, she had directed her community for 32 years and her sisters were working in more than 40 houses. On the morning of her death, she had the joy of receiving permission to print the book of Rules she had patiently awaited for the last 20 years. She died suddenly after supper; in the afternoon she had told one of the sick sisters: Goodbye, see you in heaven!


A woman of great heart and charming simplicity, she left more than 600 sisters, pleased to follow in her footsteps by supporting the ministry of the priests in prayer and dedication.

Bishop Paul LaRocque of Sherbrooke was seeking sisters to work in his Seminary and Residence. Informed of this, Sister Léonie consulted, reflected and decided to transfer the Mother House and Novitiate to Sherbrooke. In 1896, she received the diocesan approbation that Bishop John Sweeney of Saint John, New Brunswick, had always refused to grant to the new community.